NEWS > Business
Seven L.American countries to meet on EU tariff hike
2005-01-26 02:25:45 XinhuaEnglish

QUITO, Jan. 25(Xinhuanet)-- Presidents and foreign ministers of seven Latin American banana-producing countries will meet here Wednesday to discuss common positions against a decision by the European Union(EU) to increase tariff on bananas.

The seven countries, Ecuador, Colombia, Guatemala, Honduras, Costa Rica, Panama
and Nicaragua, believed the 230-euro(about 299US dollars) tariff charged for every metric ton of banana until 2006 was unacceptable. They want a more reasonable arrangement, local media reported.

The new EU rate was 155 euros(about 201.5 dollars) higher than before.

Leaders from the seven countries will sign a declaration after the meeting and kick off a fight for dialogue with the EU.

Agricultural Minister of Ecuador Leonardo Escobar said they need to have a face-to-face dialogue with the EU to discuss the tariff increase, which was believed to be aimed at benefiting former European colonies in Africa.

Conference Photo 1  
Auto import rises 13.1% in 2004  
China becomes Japan's largest trade partner: ministry  
Registered unemployment rate drops in 2004  
Car market competition moves up to luxury brands  
Conference Photo 2  
Conference Photo 3  
Conference Photo 4  

SINA English is the English-language destination for news and information about China. Find general information on life, culture and travel in China through our news and special reportsúČor find business partners through our online Business Directory. For investment opportunities with SINA, please click the link "Investor" below.
| About SINA | Investor | Media Kit | Comments or Question? |
Copyright© 2004 SINA.com. All Rights Reserved