NEWS > Mainland
CPPCC leader calls for democracy, unity for coming annual session
2005-02-28 07:25:53 

BEIJING, Feb. 28(Xinhuanet)-- Jia Qinglin, Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference(CPPCC), has called for"continuously displaying democracy" and"promoting unity" at the coming annual session of the country's top political consulting body.

Jia made this call Monday at the closing meeting of the Eighth Conference of the Standing Committee of the 10th CPPCC National Committee, which was held ahead of the Third Session of the 10th CPPCC National Committee which is due to open March 3.

Jia told CPPCC members to raise proposals for the 11th Five-Year Plan for social progress and economic development and contribute to"building a socialist harmonious society in China."

As a member of the Standing Committee of the Communist Party ofChina(CPC) Central Committee Political Bureau, he also told the CPC members among CPPCC National Committee members and standing members to play a leading role.

During the past three days, the participants heard an overview on a number of reports including those on the agenda of the annualsession, a report on the work of the Standing Committee of the CPPCC National Committee and a report on the issue of proposals. These reports will be handed over to the annual session for approval.

At the meeting, Zheng Wantong was named the secretary-general of the annual session and other 21 people were made deputy secretary-generals, while 80 people were elected into new members of the 10th CPPCC National Committee.

A number of people were deprived of their CPPCC membership for various reasons, such as Li Dachang who was recently found to haveconducted conduct malfeasant activities when he was a deputy governor of Sichuan Province. Others were promoted, for example a noted writer who was named chairman of a CPPCC National committee on culture, history and study.

The meeting was presided over by Vice Chairman Wang Zhongyu of the CPPCC National Committee and attended by other vice chairpersons including Liao Hui, Liu Yandong, Li Guixian, Zhang Siqing, Bai Lichen, Luo Haocai, Zhang Kehui, Zhou Tienong, Hao Jianxiu, Chen Kuiyuan, Abdul'ahat Abdulrixit, Xu Kuangdi, Li Zhaozhuo, Huang Mengfu, Zhang Huaixi, and Li Meng.

China publishes textbook for European managers to learn Chinese  
Senior CPC leader urges party officials to improve governance by education  
China celebrates women's day by honoring female model workers  
CPPCC chairman meets winners of national forestry prize  
Issues of ethnic minorities, religion important: CPPCC leader  
China to reshuffle petition system to meet new regulation  
South China sea to be area of cooperation, Philippine foreign secretary says  
Tiananmen Square dismisses rumor of tourism fee  

SINA English is the English-language destination for news and information about China. Find general information on life, culture and travel in China through our news and special reportsúČor find business partners through our online Business Directory. For investment opportunities with SINA, please click the link "Investor" below.
| About SINA | Investor | Media Kit | Comments or Question? |
Copyright© 2004 SINA.com. All Rights Reserved