Mon, May 25, 2009
Entertainment > Movie > 62nd Cannes film Festival

Cannes 2009: list of winners

2009-05-25 08:23:41 GMT2009-05-25 16:23:41 (Beijing Time)

“The White Ribbon” director Michael Haneke in Cannes Sunday

Austrian soap star Christoph Waltz, pictured on May 20, 2009, clinched the best actor award in Cannes Sunday for his role as a multilingual Nazi in Quentin Tarantino's "Inglourious Basterds.

French actress Charlotte Gainsbourg poses with the Best Actress award she received for the film 'Antichrist',

Actor Wei Wu, Chinese Director Lou Ye, actress Zhuo Tan and actor Hao Qin pose at the photo call with the Best Screenplay award for the film 'Spring Fever', at a photo call following the awards ceremony, during the 62nd International film festival in Cannes, southern France, Sunday, May 24, 2009.

French director Jacques Audiard attends a photocall after receiving his Grand Prix award for the film "Un Prophete" (A Prophet) during the award ceremony of the 62nd Cannes Film Festival May 24, 2009.

Palme D’Or

“The White Ribbon” directed by Austrian Michael Haneke. A small village is rocked by a series of mysterious and cruel crimes. A group of young children are among the prime suspects.

Grand Prix (runner up)

- “A Prophet” directed by France’s Jacques Audiard. Malik is sentenced to six years in prison, and must use every ounce of his ingenuity to survive the dangerous rivalry between gangs.

Special career prize

- Veteran French director Alain Resnais. This year he presented “Wild Grass”. When Georges finds a stranger’s wallet by his car, he goes in search of the mysterious and alluring Marguerite.

Best actor

- Austrian Christoph Waltz for his role as a Nazi officer in Quentin Tarantino’s World War Two caper “Inglourious Basterds”, in which a group of American-Jewish soldiers gets mixed up in a plot to kill the leaders of the Third Reich, including Hitler.

Best actress

- Charlotte Gainsbourg for “Antichrist” directed by Denmark’s Lars Von Trier. She and Willem Dafoe play a couple whose son dies in an accident. Events spiral out of control when they go to an isolated cabin to try to recover.

  Best director

- “Kinatay” directed by Filipino Brillante Mendoza. Peping, a criminology student, joins his friend on a mission to earn some cash but regrets his decision as events turn sour.

  Best screenplay

- Mei Feng for his script on “Spring Fever” directed by China’s Lou Ye. A woman hires a man to spy on a passionate homosexual relationship her husband is involved in.

Jury prize (shared)

- “Fish Tank” directed by Britain’s Andrea Arnold. Mia, 15, sees her world turned upside down when her mother brings home a new boyfriend.

- “Thirst” directed by South Korean Park Chan-Wook - A priest becomes a vampire during a medical experiment and is seduced by a bored housewife bent on murder.

Camera D’Or (for debut film)

- “Samson and Delilah” directed by Australia’s Warwick Thornton. A romance between two teenagers that looks at the often desperate conditions faced by Australia’s Aboriginal communities.

Best short film

- “Arena” directed by Portuguese director Joao Salaviza.

Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.

You might also be interested in: