Thu, October 22, 2009
Sports > Tennis & Golf > 2009 Shanghai ATP Masters

About the ATP Masters 1000 Events

2009-10-16 08:45:51 GMT2009-10-16 16:45:51 (Beijing Time)

I About the ATP Masters 1000 Events

The ATP World Tour Masters 1000 is a series of nine tennis tournaments that are part of the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) tour, held annually throughout the year in 9 cities around the world, which are now Indian Wells, Miami, Monte Carlo, Rome, Madrid, Canada (Montreal or Toronto), Cincinnati, Shanghai and Paris. The series constitutes the most prestigious tournaments in men's tennis after the four Grand Slam events and is mandatory for the top male players on the professional circuit.

The series was introduced in 1990 with the inception of the ATP Tour. The events were originally known as "Championship Series, Single Week" events. From 1996 through 1999, the series was known as the Mercedes-Benz Super 9. In 2000, the name was changed to the Tennis Masters Series (TMS) and then changed to ATP Masters Series in 2004. The present name took effect in 2009.

On August 31, 2007 the ATP announced that major changes will take place in 2009. The Masters Series will be renamed to the “Masters 1000”, with the addition of the number 1000 referring to the number of ranking points earned by the winner of each tournament. The Hamburg Masters event will be downgraded to a 500 point event. The Madrid Masters will move to May and onto clay courts, and a new tournament in Shanghai will take over Madrid's former indoor October slot. The former AMS Monte Carlo still share the same ranking point allocation privilege but without mandatory player participation, that makes it an “8+1” ATP Masters 1000 system. In 2011 six of the nine “1000” level tournaments will be combined ATP and WTA events.

For a Masters 1000 event, players with South African Airways ATP Ranking positions equal or better than 45, shall be automatically entered by the ATP. And all top 20 players are obligated to compete in these 8 events, unless he can subject a medical certificate of injury or illness issued by an ATP authorized independent medical institution. Those who withdraw without justified reasons will not only lose part of his share in the special year-end $ 7.5 millions premium, set by ATP for the top 20 players, but also be disqualified for one of the ATP Masters 1000 events that he scored best last season. UP until 2007, most Master Series finals were contested as best of five set matches. Currently, all Masters 1000 events are decided in best of three set matches.

II About the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000

Since 2002, Shanghai has hosted the Tennis Masters Cup five times, captivating the world with excellent organization, splendid matches and thoughtful service. On 16 April, 2007, ATP and Shanghai sealed the deal that gives Shanghai the ownership of the only Masters 1000 tournament outside of Europe and North America.

From 10 Oct. to 18 Oct. 2009, Shanghai will host the first session this tournament at the spectacular Qi Zhong Tennis Center. More than 100 tennis professionals will present 99 matches totally in 9 days (1-day qualifying). Being the only Masters event in Asia, the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000 is destined to stand out as the flagship event on the new Asia Swing, as set out by ATP in 2009, including Bangkok (Thailand), Beijing, Tokyo (Japan), and Shanghai.

Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.