Tue, February 07, 2012
Sports > Popular News > Laureus World Sports Awards 2012

List of 2012 Laureus World Sports Award winners

2012-02-06 22:11:53 GMT2012-02-07 06:11:53(Beijing Time)  Xinhua English

LONDON, Feb. 6 (Xinhua) -- Following is the full list of the 2012 Laureus World Sports Award winners:

1. Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

Winner: Novak Djokovic (Serbia) Tennis -- won Australian, Wimbledon and U.S. Open Grand Slams

2. Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

Winner: Vivian Cheruiyot (Kenya) Athletics -- won World Championship 5k and 10k and cross-country title

3. Laureus World Team of the Year

Winner: FC Barcelona (Spain) Football -- won Champions League and Spanish League in 2010/11

4. Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

Winner: Rory Mcllroy (Britain) Golf -- at 22, won US Open, his first Major Championship

5. Laureus World Comeback of the Year

Winner: Darren Clarke (Britain) Golf -- at 42, recovered from slump in form to win Open Championship

6. Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

Winner: Oscar Pistorius (South Africa) Athletics -- first amputee to win track medal in non-disabled World Championships

7. Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year

Winner: Kelly Slater (United States) Surfing -- won 11th World Surfing Championship at 39

There were two additional awards: The Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award went to England football legend Bobby Charlton, while the Laureus Sport for Good Award was given to Rai Souza Vieira de Oliveira, a former Brazilian footballer who is a social justice campaigner now.


Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.