16 fans to join MLB Fan Cave during 2013 World Baseball Classic

2012-12-13 09:00:40 GMT2012-12-13 17:00:40(Beijing Time)  Xinhua English

Sixteen fans, one representing each of the participating World Baseball Classic teams, will cheer on their teams during the tournament from New York City as part of the "MLB Fan Cave: World Baseball Classic Edition."

Fans may begin applying today at MLBFanCave.com/WBC or wbcfancave.com/china/apply to be a "Cave Dweller" and represent their teams inside the MLB Fan Cave. Entries - which include an essay and video submission - will be accepted through January 11.

While taking part in the 18-day "MLB Fan Cave: World Baseball Classic Edition," the "Cave Dwellers" will watch every game of the Classic live at all hours of the day and night. They also will share their pride, meet baseball personalities and chronicle their experiences online through videos, blogs and social media.

As the teams are eliminated from the World Baseball Classic tournament, the fan representing that team will leave the MLB Fan Cave.

The fans of the final four teams will travel to the Championship Round in San Francisco, CA to watch their teams compete for the World Baseball Classic Championship. Fans are eligible to represent any country/region that they reside in or the country/region of their heritage.

The MLB Fan Cave is a unique event space mixing baseball with music, popular culture, media, technology and art. Supported by MLB Advanced Media, it also provides baseball fans with a constant flow of online video and conversation via social media.

More than 400 celebrity visitors, including nearly 200 current Major Leaguers as well as musicians, actors, former players and others, have visited the MLB Fan Cave since its launch in 2011. They have participated in more than 500 online videos for fans to share via social media.

Some of the biggest stars in baseball have visited the MLB Fan Cave, including 2009 World Baseball Classic participants Miguel Cabrera (Team Venezuela), Robinson Cano (Team Dominican Republic), Aroldis Chapman (Team Cuba), Adrian Gonzalez (Team Mexico), Derek Jeter (Team USA) and Rich Thompson (Team Australia).

The 2013 World Baseball Classic, which is the third edition of the tournament, will feature the world's best players representing their countries or regions. Thirty-nine games will be played in seven venues from March 2 through March 19, 2013. Team Japan is the two-time defending champion of the World Baseball Classic, having won in 2006 and 2009.

For the first time, four qualifiers were held for the 2013 World Baseball Classic, which expanded the competitive field from 16 to 28 teams.

Brazil, Canada, Chinese Taipei and Spain emerged from the qualifiers to earn spots in the March 2013 event. Those four qualifier teams will join the teams of the 12 countries - Australia, China, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, the Netherlands, Puerto Rico, United States and Venezuela - that received automatic invitations based on their performances in the 2009 tournament.

In the United States, MLB Network will be the exclusive English-language broadcast partner for all 39 games of the 2013 World Baseball Classic. The semifinal and final games will take place March 17 - 19 at San Francisco's AT&T Park, hosted by the San Francisco Giants.

Add Comment
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.