Sri Lanka names new cricket captain and vice captain

2013-02-14 12:13:37 GMT2013-02-14 20:13:37(Beijing Time)  Xinhua English

COLOMBO, Feb. 14 (Xinhua) -- Sri Lanka on Thursday announced the appointment of a new captain and vice captain to the national cricket team.

The new cricket selection panel headed by Sanath Jayasuriya appointed Anjelo Mathews as the captain and Dinesh Chandimal as the vice captain for a period effective from 14th March 2013 to January 2014, cricket board media manager Rajith Fernando said.

The new captain and vice captain were named after senior player Mahela Jayawardena stepped down as captain following the recent tour by the team to Australia.

Meanwhile Chandimal will captain the T20 team also during that period while Lasith Malinga is the new Vice captain for the T20 side. Anjelo Mathews captained the side in the T20 matches against Australia during the tour down under.

Others selected to the team are T.M Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Ashen Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanna, Mahela Jayawardana, Kusal Janith, Jeewan Mendis, Kithruwan Vithanage, Ajantha Mendis, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Kulasekara, Shaminda Eranga, Chanaka Welagedara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Sameera, Rangana Hearath and P.H.T Kaushal.

The new selectors were appointed recently by the island's sports minister after the national team went through a bad patch.

Cricket became a hugely popular game in Sri Lanka especially after the team won the 1996 one day cricket world cup.

Add Comment
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.