Thu, August 19, 2010
Sports > Popular News > Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games

Introduction to Singapore Youth Olympic Games

2010-08-18 10:05:16 GMT2010-08-18 18:05:16 (Beijing Time)

Official logo of the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games.

The 2010 Summer Youth Olympics, officially known as the Singapore 2010 Youth Olympic Games (YOG), is an international multi-sport event for youths that is taking place in the city-state of Singapore, from 14 to 26 August 2010, in the XXIX Olympiad. It is the inaugural event of the Summer Youth Olympics, a major sports and cultural festival to be celebrated in the tradition of the Olympic Games. 3,531 athletes between 14 and 18 years of age from 204 National Olympic Committees (NOCs) will compete in 184 events in 26 sports. The decision for Singapore to host the Games was announced on 21 February 2008 after mail voting by 105 IOC members.


The Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (SYOGOC) is tasked with organising the inaugural Games. It is aided by a panel of advisors composed of Cabinet ministers and Parliamentary Secretary Teo Ser Luck. In addition, an Inter-Ministry Committee was established with Niam Chiang Meng, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports as its chairman. Singapore has received some international support for the Games' preparations. The People's Republic of China, host of the 2008 Summer Olympics, expressed its desire to assist Singapore in its preparations. Sebastian Coe, Lord Coe, Chairman of the London Organising Committee for the 2012 Summer Olympics, announced that members of his organising team planned to attend the event, including coaches and administrators. The Bid Committee secured 4,310 guaranteed rooms in 36 hotels. The official hotel partner for the Games is the Fairmont Singapore.

Torch relay

Plans for the Youth Olympic torch relay were unveiled on 26 January 2010. The flame was lit on 23 July 2010 and traveled to five cities representing the five continents: Asia, Africa, Europe, Oceania and the Americas. The relay traveled through the following cities, dubbed the Celebration Cities:Berlin, Germany; Dakar, Senegal; Mexico City, Mexico; Auckland, New Zealand and Seoul, South Korea.

Opening ceremony

Opening ceremony of the Games was held on 14 August at The Float@Marina Bay, a floating stage near downtown Singapore. Approximately 27,000 spectators attended the event, which took place against a backdrop of the city's skyline.[24] Event tickets cost between S$30 and S$200. The show, the largest ever held by the city, took over 750 hours of rehearsals to complete. Over 7,000 performers, mostly under the age of 18, took part in the ceremony. At the centre of the stage was the 32-metre tall Olympic cauldron designed by Randy Chan as a lighthouse. It was flanked by six giant LED displays, which stand behind a reflecting pool containing 200 tonnes of water. Prime Minister of Singapore Lee Hsien Loong was present at the event.


The YOG will feature 26 sports, forming a total of 31 disciplines. These include two disciplines under the IOC classification of aquatics (diving and swimming), and three for Gymnastics (Artistic, Rhythmic and Trampoline).


In accordance with IOC guidelines, only youths between 14 and 18 years of age are allowed to participate in the 2010 Summer Youth Olympics. Unlike the Olympic Games, the youth athletes taking part in the YOG are expected to stay in the host city throughout the Games to take part in the culture and education activities. An integrated sport and culture and education programme (CEP) is also scheduled for the youth athletes' participation. Qualification to participate in the Games differ by the sport, and is determined by the respective National Olympic Committee (NOC) and international federation.

A unique feature of the YOG is the creation of the mixed-NOC team event. To foster friendship among participants, teams will be formed by athletes from different countries to compete inter-continentally. Mixed-NOC sports include equestrian-jumping, fencing, judo, modern pentathlon, and triathlon.


A total of 18 competition venues will be used at the Games. Events will take place at eleven pre-existing venues, one new venue (the Singapore Turf Club Riding Centre) constructed for the Olympics, and six temporary venues that will be removed following the Games. Twelve venues have also been set aside for training purposes. Certain venues such as the Singapore Indoor Stadium and The Float@Marina Bay were temporarily converted to host the respective sports, while Kallang Field was upgraded to be able to host the archery competition. The Float@Marina Bay, a floating stage, will be the main stadium for the Games, hosting the opening and closing ceremonies. It is also the largest venue in terms of seating capacity at the Games, capable of holding 25,000 spectators.


Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.