Tue, February 07, 2012
Sports > Popular News > Laureus World Sports Awards 2012

Djokovic, Barcelona win at 2012 Laureus awards

2012-02-07 00:21:44 GMT2012-02-07 08:21:44(Beijing Time)  SINA.com

Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic arrives with his girlfriend Jelena Ristic for the Laureus World Sports Awards in London, Monday Feb. 6, 2012. (Photo/AP)

LONDON — Novak Djokovic won the top individual honor at the 2012 Laureus Sports Awards on Monday, and Barcelona captured the team prize.

The top-ranked Djokovic won sportsman of the year at the ceremony in London, one week after the Serbian triumphed at the Australian Open to become the fifth man in the Open era to win three Grand Slam titles in a row.

Barcelona was recognized as the best team after a stellar 2011 in which Pep Guardiola's players won the Spanish league and Champions League.

Kenyan distance runner Vivian Cheruiyot, winner of the 5,000- and 10,000-meter titles at the world championships last year, took the sportswoman's award.

Darren Clarke was honored with the comeback of the year award. The 43-year-old Northern Irishman won his first golf major by capturing the British Open at Royal St. George's last year.

Compatriot Rory McIlroy won the breakthrough of the year award for the 22-year-old's eight-shot win at the U.S. Open at Congressional, becoming the second-youngest player to win a major since 1934.

Bobby Charlton was given the lifetime achievement award 54 years to the day after surviving the Munich air disaster that killed eight members of his Manchester United team.

The 74-year-old Charlton was unable to personally receive the award. Laureus officials said he felt ill Sunday and returned to Manchester on Monday for unspecified minor surgery. United manager Alex Ferguson accepted the award on Charlton's behalf. He said Charlton is fine but "very annoyed" at not being able to attend the ceremony.

Double amputee Oscar Pistorius won the disability award. The South African 400-meter specialist won a silver medal in the relay at the able-bodied world championships last year in Daegu, South Korea.

The winners were chosen by 47 sports stars who make up the Laureus sports academy.




Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.