Mon, January 19, 2009
World > Americas > Obama's Inauguration

Backgrounder: Schedule of official events for U.S. presidential inaugural

2009-01-17 21:53:02 GMT2009-01-18 05:53:02 (Beijing Time)  Xinhua English

WASHINGTON, Jan. 17 (Xinhua) -- U.S. President-elect Barack Obama will be sworn into office on Tuesday as the first African-American president in history. The following is an official calendar on the inauguration-related events.

Saturday, Jan. 17

10:05 a.m. EST (15:05 GMT) President-elect Obama addresses a brief ceremony in Philadelphia, PA. Then, the president-elect, his family, and everyday Americans will embark on a 137-mile (about 220 km) Whistle Stop Tour to the District of Colombia.

Location: North Waiting Room, 30th Street Station, Philadelphia, PA

1:00 p.m. EST (18:00 GMT) President-elect Obama picks up Vice President-elect Joseph Biden and his family, continuing the Whistle Stop Tour.

Location: Back of Wilmington Train Station, 100 South French Street, Wilmington, DE

4:15 p.m. EST (21:15 GMT) President-elect Obama and Vice President-elect Biden and their families, and everyday Americans traveling on the Whistle Stop Tour. The president-elect and vice president-elect will attend a grand celebration rally in Baltimore, MD, before continuing the tour.

Location: War Memorial Plaza, 101 N. Gay Street, Baltimore, MD

Evening: President-elect Obama, Vice President-elect Biden, their families, and everyday Americans will arrive in the District of Colombia.

Location: Union Station, District of Colombia

Sunday, Jan. 18

We Are One: Opening Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial

Location: The Lincoln Memorial, between Constitution Avenue NW and Independence Avenue SW on 23rd Street, DC

Monday, Jan. 19

1. Memorial services for Martin Luther King, Jr.

2. Community services: Renew America Together

On Monday, the president-elect, vice president-elect, and their families -- just like Americans in communities across the country -- will participate in activities dedicated to serving others.

Tuesday, Jan. 20

The Swearing-In Ceremony

Location: United States Capitol, West Front

Event begins: 11:30 a.m. EST (16:30 GMT)

Inaugural Luncheon

Location: United States Capitol

Inaugural Parade

Location: Pennsylvania Avenue

Event begins: While there is no official start time for the parade, it traditionally begins around 2:30 p.m. EST (19:30 GMT)

Wednesday, Jan. 21

National Prayer Service

Location: Washington National Cathedral

The morning after the inauguration, a National Prayer Service with President Barack Obama, Vice President Joseph Biden, and members of their families will be held at the National Cathedral. The service will bring together dignitaries and Americans of diverse faiths to celebrate the previous day's events through prayer, readings, and musical performances.

Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
Comment:
(English Only)
 
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.

SPECIAL COVERAGE

MOST VIEWED

LATEST VIDEO

PICTURE GALLERY