Poland reshuffles gov't after EP elections

2019-06-05 03:51:41 GMT2019-06-05 11:51:41(Beijing Time) Xinhua English

WARSAW, June 4 (Xinhua) -- Polish President Andrzej Duda appointed seven new ministers in cabinet on Tuesday, mostly replacing those politicians heading to Brussels to take up places in the European Parliament.

Jacek Sasin, a well-known politician of the ruling Law and Justice Party (PiS), is the new deputy prime minister replacing Beata Szydlo, who received the most votes in elections for the European Parliament out of all Polish politicians running.

Dariusz Piontkowski becomes the new minister of education, Elzbieta Witek, the new minister of the interior and administration, and Bozena Borys-Szopa, the new minister of family, labour and social policy.

Marian Banas, the former head of the National Revenue Administration, is the new minister of finance, replacing Teresa Czerwinska, the only minister who is being replaced despite not moving on to join the European Parliament.

Czerwinska had been rumoured to leave the office for months, with Polish media reporting that she had been critical of some of the government's general social spending.

Michal Wos and Michal Dworczyk also became ministers without portfolio in the new government. Wos will fulfill the role of government plenipotentiary for humanitarian aid, while Dworczyk will continue to run the Prime Minister's office.