Tue, June 22, 2010
Wimbledon Open 2010

Wimbledon event guide

2010-06-22 05:54:35 GMT2010-06-22 13:54:35 (Beijing Time)  SINA.com

2010 Wimbledon Championships

Play is scheduled to start on Centre and No. 1 Courts at 1pm for the first 11 days of play and at 2pm on finals days. On all other courts play is scheduled to start at midday for at least the first eight days and 11am for junior matches on the middle Saturday and during the second week.

2010 Wimbledon Championships: 21st June – 4th July

The following events will be contested at The Championships

Gentlemen's Singles (128 player draw)

Ladies' Singles (128 draw)

Gentlemen's Doubles (64 draw)

Ladies' Doubles (64 draw)

Mixed Doubles (48 draw)

Boys' Singles (64 draw)

Boys' Doubles (32 draw)

Girls' Singles (64 draw)

Girls' Doubles (32 draw)

Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Senior Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Ladies' Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Gentlemen's Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)


Monday 7 JuneLTA wild card play-off at the AELTC begins.

Tuesday 8 JuneWild Cards announced

Monday 14 JuneQualifying begins

Wednesday 16 JuneSeedings announced

Thursday 17 JuneQualifying ends

Friday 18 JuneWimbledon Draw

Monday 21 JuneWimbledon 2010 starts

Saturday 3 JulyLadies' Singles Final

Sunday 4 JulyMen's Singles Final


Players wishing to enter The Championships are required to submit their entry on a special form, which must be submitted six weeks before The Championships begin. The Committee of Management, with the assistance of the Referee, use computer rankings to determine which players will be admitted directly into Championship events, those who have to qualify and those who are rejected.


Qualifiers are the winners of the qualifying competitions staged at Roehampton the week before The Championships.

Players entering the singles events must play three rounds on grass in the week before The Championships. Unlike The Championships, there is no single 'winner' of Qualifying, instead the players who win all three rounds — 16 in the Gentlemen's Singles and 12 in the Ladies' Singles — will progress, along with four pairs in each of the Ladies' and Men's Doubles events.

Lucky losers are losers from the final round of qualifying competitions — chosen in order of world rankings — to fill any vacancy which occurs in the draw before the first round has been completed.

Wild cards

Wild cards are players whose world ranking is not high enough to automatically qualify for The Championships but who are accepted into the main Championship draw at the discretion of the Committee. Wild cards are usually offered on the basis of past performance at Wimbledon or to increase British interest. Wild cards have been allocated since 1977 and from 2003 some singles Wild Cards have been determined by competition. The only wild card to win the Men's Singles title was Goran Ivanisevic in 2001. No Wild Card has won the Ladies' Singles title.


A simplified form of seeding was introduced in 1924 when up to four representatives of a nation were drawn in the four different quarters of the draw. In 1927 full seeding was carried out and competitors were selected according to ability, irrespective of nationality. Seeding has been based on computer rankings since 1975.

Since 1927 only two unseeded players have won the Gentlemen’s Singles — Boris Becker in 1985 and Goran Ivanisevic in 2001. No unseeded player has won the Ladies’ Singles. Eleven unseeded players have reached the final of the Gentlemen’s Singles and four unseeded players have reached the final of the Ladies’ Singles. Nine unseeded pairs have won the Gentlemen’s Doubles, five unseeded pairs have won the Ladies’ Doubles and ten unseeded pairs have won the Mixed Doubles.

Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.