Tue, June 26, 2012
Sports > Tennis & Golf > 2012 Wimbledon Championships

Backgrounder: Five main events of Wimbledon

2012-06-26 09:08:44 GMT2012-06-26 17:08:44(Beijing Time)  SINA.com

Wimbledon includes five main events, four junior events and four invitation events.

Main events

The five main events, and the number of players (or teams, in the case of doubles) include the following:

Gentlemen's Singles (128 draw)

Ladies' Singles (128 draw)

Gentlemen's Doubles (64 draw)

Ladies' Doubles (64 draw)

Mixed Doubles (48 draw)

Junior events

Also known as Chimbledon (Children's Wimbledon), the four junior events and the number of players or teams include the following:

Boys' Singles (64 draw)

Girls' Singles (64 draw)

Boys' Doubles (32 draw)

Girls' Doubles (32 draw)

No mixed doubles event is held at this level.

Invitation events

The five invitational and the number of pairs include the following:

Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Senior Gentlemen's Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Ladies' Invitation Doubles (8 pairs Round Robin)

Gentlemen's Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)

Ladies' Wheelchair Doubles (4 pairs)

Match formats

Matches in the Gentlemen's Singles and Gentlemen's Doubles competitions are best-of-five sets. Matches in all other events are best-of-three sets. A tiebreak game is played if the score reaches 6–6 in any set except the fifth (in a five-set match) or the third (in a three-set match), in which case a two-game lead must be reached.

All events are single-elimination tournaments, except for the Gentlemen's, Senior Gentlemen's and the Ladies' Invitation Doubles, all of which are round-robin tournaments.

Until 1922, the winners of the previous year's competition (except in the Ladies Doubles and Mixed Doubles) were automatically granted byes

into the final round (then known as the challenge round). This led to many winners retaining their titles for successive years, as they were able to rest while their opponent competed from the start of the competition. From 1922, the prior-year's champions were not granted byes but were required to play all the rounds, like other tournament competitors.



Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.