England coach Southgate names 33-man preliminary squad ahead of Euro 2020

2021-05-26 00:36:00 GMT2021-05-26 08:36:00(Beijing Time) Xinhua English

LONDON, May 25 (Xinhua) -- England coach Gareth Southgate on Tuesday named a 33-man provisional squad for this summer's European Championships.

Southgate said he had named 33, rather than the permitted 26 players because Manchester United will play Villarreal in the final of the Europa League on Wednesday, while Manchester City play Chelsea in the Champions League at the weekend.

"Our situation is more complicated than any other country. We know we have 12 players still to play in finals this week. We knew would need additional players. Added to that we have injuries at various stages," he explained.

Players such as Harry Maguire, Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice and Kalvin Phillips have all been picked despite carrying injuries, such as Maguire's ankle ligament problems.

Liverpool defender, Trent Alexander-Arnold has also been included in the preliminary squad, despite speculation he could miss out after a disappointing season, while Brighton's Ben White and Ben Godfrey have been called up for the first time.

Manchester United forward Mason Greenwood has earned a recall after being sent home from the England squad in Iceland in September of last year after a breach of COVID-19 protocols. Borussia Dortmund's teenage midfielder Jude Bellingham as also been called up.

Meanwhile players such as Tottenham's Eric Dier has been left out of the squad, along with Leicester City's James Maddison and Manchester United's Aaron Wan Bissaka and in-form Southampton striker, Danny Ings.

The final 26-man squad will be confirmed on June 1, which is the latest date allowed by UEFA.

Following is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Aaron Ramsdale (Sheffield United)

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Ben Godfrey (Everton), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (West Ham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa). Enditem