Wed, December 15, 2010
Sports > Tennis & Golf

Nadal, Wozniacki named 2010 ITF world champions

2010-12-15 03:53:51 GMT2010-12-15 11:53:51 (Beijing Time)  Xinhua English

Rafael Nadal of Spain returns the ball during his semifinal against Andy Murray of Britain in the 2010 ATP World Tour Finals in London, Britain, Nov. 27, 2010. Nadal won 2-1 to enter the final. (Xinhua/Zeng Yi)

Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark holds small souvenir boats during their WTA Tour Championships tennis match in Doha October 28, 2010. (Xinhua/Reuters Photo)

PARIS, Dec. 14 (Xinhua) -- Rafael Nadal of Spain and Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark are named the International Tennis Federation's world champions for 2010.

It is the second time that Nadal has taken the honour, while Wozniacki becomes the first Danish to receive a senior ITF award.

American twins Bob and Mike Bryan were named men's doubles world champions for a record seventh occasion, while Gisela Dulko of Argentina and Flavia Pennetta of Italy become women's doubles world champions for the first time.

In other ITF awards, Youth Olympic champions Juan Sebastian Gomez of Colombia and Daria Gavrilova of Russia were named as junior world champions.

The ITF world champions will receive their awards at the annual ITF World Champions Dinner on May 31 in Paris.

Add Your Comments:

Your Name:
Your Country:
(English Only)
Please read our Terms of Service. Messages that harass, abuse or threaten others; have obscene or otherwise objectionable content; have spam, commercial or advertising content or links may be removed.